NORTHERN MARIANAS COLLEGE



Faculty Senate

Meeting Minutes

May 19, 2009 • 8:00 a.m. Board of Regents Conference Room

- I. Call to Order 8:30 am
 - a. Attendees: Frank Sobolewski, Larry Lee, Lyte Chapap, Marian Tudela, Barbara Merfalen, Cynthia Deleon Guerrero, Judy Torres, and Joan Dubrall
 - b. Others in attendance: John Jenkins, and Carol Hosono
- II. Adoption of Agenda
 - a. Make changes on item 2 from "final report of the NMC President" to "final report of the NMC Faculty Senate President."
 - i. Motioned by Larry Lee
 - ii. Seconded by Joan Dubrall
 - b. Agenda was adopted
- III. Report on the Board of Regents meeting and the Board of Regents Personnel Committee meeting on May 6
 - a. Frank Sobolewski announced that he was not present at either meeting due to his class schedule.
 - b. Larry Lee reported that he was present for the Board of Regents Personnel Committee meeting but no Regent was present at the time for the Personnel Committee meeting except for Regent Juan Demapan.
 - c. Lyte Chapap reported that the Board of Regents meeting did not commence on time. He was instructed by Frankie Eliptico to wait in his office for a call indicating the start of the meeting. Lyte returned to the Board of Regents meeting at 5:15 pm and a motion for an executive session was adopted. Lyte left the room and returned after the executive session ended. At the meeting the motion to renew and extend the President's contract for four years was adopted. Janet King voted "No" on this motion and new member Juan Demapan abstained. The remaining Board members voted "Yes". Board member Rita Inos reminded members that the President's contract may be revoked at any time when the Board of Regents is not satisfied with the President's performance.
 - d. Frank Sobolewski will request for the minutes of this Board of Regents meeting to clarify some issues.
- IV. Appreciation to the outgoing Faculty Senators: Larry Lee, Lyte Chapap, Leo Pangelinan, Joan Dubrall, John Jenkins, and Frank Sobolewski
 - a. Appreciation was given to all outgoing Faculty Senators.
- V. Welcome to new Faculty Senators: Larry Lee, Lyte Chapap, Joan Dubrall, Judy Torres, Marian Tudela, Barbara Merfalen, Cynthia Deleon Guerrero, and Frank Sobolewski.

- a. Larry Lee At large
- b. Lyte Chapap At large
- c. Joan Dubrall At large
- d. Judy Torres At large
- e. Marian Tudela Student Services Representative
- f. Barbara Merfalen At large
- g. Cynthia Deleon Guerrero School of Education Representative
- h. Frank Sobolewski Academic Programs Representative
- i. COMPASS Representative Vacant
 - i. Frank Sobolewski volunteered to be in charge of the COMPASS Representative election.
- VI. Election of new Faculty Senate officers: President, Vice President, and Secretary
 - a. President
 - i. Cynthia Deleon Guerrero nominated Barbara Merfalen for President, seconded by Judy Torres
 - ii. Lyte Chapap nominated Larry Lee for President, seconded by Joan Dubrall
 - iii. Election results: Barbara received 3 votes. Larry received 5 votes.
 - iv. Larry Lee is the new Faculty Senate President.
 - b. Vice President
 - i. Larry Lee nominated Frank Sobolewski for Vice President, seconded by Joan Dubrall
 - ii. Lyte Chapap nominated Barbara Merfalen for Vice President, seconded by Cynthia Deleon Guerrero
 - iii. Election results: Frank Sobolewski received 3 votes. Barbara Merfalen received 5 votes.
 - iv. Barbara Merfalen is the new Faculty Senate Vice President.
 - c. Secretary
 - i. Joan Dubrall was nominated and elected as the Faculty Senate Secretary.
 - d. In accordance with Article VI, Section 2 of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly, all annual elections of Faculty Senate officers are for a term of one year beginning with the last Faculty Senate meeting of the Spring Semester.
- VII. Determining the time and date for Faculty Senate meeting during the summer.
 - a. To be discussed at a later time. Both the Faculty Senate President and the Vice President will be on leave during the summer.
- VIII. Frank Sobolewski resigned as a Faculty representative on PROAC.
- IX. Meeting was recessed @ 10:00 a.m.

Continuation of meeting @ 12:15 pm, Pacific Islands Club

- X. To select a Faculty Senate representative for PROAC
 - a. Vice President Barbara Merfalen is unable to represent the Faculty Senate on PROAC.
 - b. Marian Tudela volunteered and was elected to represent the Faculty Senate on PROAC in place of Vice President Barbara Merfalen.
- XI. Meeting adjourned at 12:20 pm